Executive Committee

Meet the Executive Committee for the Department of Psychiatry!

Matthew Malone, DO;  Patricia Harrison-Monroe, PhD;  Ole Thienhaus, MD, FACPsych;  Christina Gray, MBA;  Richard D. Lane, MD, PhD;  Kathy Smith, MD (l to r)

The Department of Psychiatry has an Executive Committee that meets weekly to discuss challenges and opportunities facing the Department, and create policies to address them. The composition of the committee aims to represent the diversity within the Department while maintaining a size that is small enough to permit effective functioning.

The committee consists of the following members:
Ole J. Thienhaus, MD, MBA, FACPsych is the Department Chair and Professor of Psychiatry. Dr. Thienhaus came to Arizona from Las Vegas, Nevada. His areas of professional interest are health care economics, geriatric psychiatry and correctional psychiatry. Since his arrival in Tucson, he has been challenged to help the Department transition into the increasingly competitive Southern Arizona health care market by fostering the growth of integrated care models while trying to maintain the academic focus on educational excellence and growth of the research enterprise.

Patricia Harrison-Monroe, PhD is Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry.  Dr. Harrison-Monroe, a licensed clinical psychologist, is the Department’s Director of Community Outreach and Clinical Development. She also directs the Early Psychosis Intervention Center (EPICenter), a major contribution of the Department to the menu of innovative services provided under the Regional Behavioral Health Authority (RBHA) of Southern Arizona. She came to us from New York City where, until 2002, she served as Assistant Commissioner with the New York City Department of Mental Health.  

Richard D. Lane, MD, PhD is Professor of Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience.
Dr. Lane is a senior clinician, educator and investigator who has been in the department since 1990. His research uses psychometric, psychophysiological and neuroimaging methods to examine the mechanisms by which emotion influences health, particularly cardiac arrhythmias and sudden cardiac death. A former director of the Consultation Psychiatry Service, he is active in resident teaching and supervision and has been director of psychotherapy training for residents for the past two decades.

Matthew Malone, DO is Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry.  Dr. Malone is the Medical Director of the Department’s clinical operations, especially its 66 bed inpatient service. He joined the Department coming from South Dakota where he gained experience in clinical management. He is Board-certified in Geriatric Psychiatry and Palliative Care Medicine, and is currently pursuing a Master’s degree in Business Administration at the University of Arizona.

Kathy Smith, MD is Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry.  Dr. Smith serves as the Director of the Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and is the Program Director of the Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship Training Program. She has additional specialized training in women's mental health and directed the Women's Mental Health conference in the Department of Psychiatry for two years. She is interested in novel educational teaching methods in psychiatry education.

If you would like to contact a member of the executive committee please email us at uapsycon@email.arizona.edu or call 520-626-1392.